HERCA Working Groups, Task Forces and Networks

Working Groups (WG) are established by HERCA to address issues of common interest. HERCA Working Groups might evolve in time as a Working Group discontinues its activities when the mandate and work plan have been fulfilled.

Task Forces (TF) are established to address specific issues not covered by the scope or mandates of existing WGs and having in general a strategic or time constraint nature.

In some cases an internal network may prove more efficient than establishing a WG/TF, in particular where the sole purpose is exchange of information or maintaining contacts of a former WG/TF.

Also, HERCA can organize or support workshops in order to facilitate exchanges between HERCA members and eventually prepare recommendations on identified issues.

Currently, the following HERCA Working Groups, Task Forces and Networks are active:

HERCA Working Groups:

  • Emergencies
  • Medical Applications
  • Veterinary Applications
  • Non-Medical Sources & Practices
  • Education & Training in Radiation Protection

HERCA Networks:

  • Dose Passbook & Outside Workers
  • Collective Medical Doses
  • Transposition of Euratom BSS Directive

WG on Emergency Preparedness and Response


Georges Piller, Federal Nuclear Safety Inspectorate (ENSI), Switzerland

Previous chairperson

Patrick Majerus, Ministry of Health (MS), Luxembourg


46 senior experts and managers in nuclear safety, emergency preparedness and radiological protection from 25 European countries.

Observers: European Commission (EC), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), World Health Organization (WHO) and the Nuclear Energy agency (NEA).

WG on Medical Applications


Dr. Steve EBDON-JACKSON, Publich Health England (PHE), United-Kingdom


Mrs Aurélie ISAMBERT, Nuclear Safety Authority (ASN), France 

Previous chairperson

Dr. Jürgen GRIEBEL, Federal Office for Radiation Protection (BfS), Germany

Dr. Ritva BLY, Radiation and Nuclear Safety Authority (STUK), Finland


49 members from 28 countries.

Observers: European Commission (EC), International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), US Food and Drug Administration (FDA), World Health Organization (WHO).

WG on Veterinary Applications


Mrs Jolien BERLAMONT, Federal Agency for Nuclear Control (FANC), Belgium


25 members from 19 countries. 

WG on Justification & Optimisation of non-medical sources and practices

Interim Chairperson

Mrs Dolores AGUADO-MOLINA, Nuclear Safety Council (CSN), Spain


31 members from 24 countries. 

Observer: European Commission (EC)

WG on Education and Training in radiation protection


Mr Ton VERMEULEN, Authority for Nuclear Safety and Radiation Protection (ANVS), the Netherlands


12 members from 9 countries.